Pivoting Departments

I’d love to hear your stories about pivoting from one department to another in the fashion industry. For example: my background is in tech dev and patternmaking but I have a strong passion for design. I can’t seem to get any attention from companies recruiting creative designers. How have you handled changing course in your career? Do you have to start from the beginning no matter how many years of industry experience you have?

2 Likes

Our industry is very short sighted and linear. Therefore, it is almost impossible to switch from Tech design to design: any employer will want to see that you are currently in a design position that is very similar to the product that they make. The same outlook applies to changing price points in fashion: you will never be hired to design a contemporary line if your background is Walmart. Bottom line: you must be doing exactly what they want already. Grandpoobah–do you agree?
I suggest that you keep your profession for now, and do your own creative work on the side for a small customer base.

2 Likes

This is exactly what I’m struggling with currently, I’ve been getting shot down even trying for low level design positions from tech

1 Like

Covid has taught our industry many things and one of them remains - wearing many hats as companies struggle to stay afloat. With my background of sourcing & factory production, making POs or packaging sheets was a relatively low skill but I did it happily as we could not afford a full time person for that profile.
So many similar stories in our team… senior designers playing sales assistant, sales assistants doing reception …

1 Like