Shifting roles, same industry

I just read an article on style dispatcher about people leaving the Fashion industry. It’s not news that the industry appears to be shrinking, but I don’t believe there is a decline. I just think the industry is changing into something severely different than we are used to. Especially if you come from the garmento style companies.

I am seeing a lot less focus on products (Design, development, tech design, etc. and more on data skills (planning, operations, merch, etc). Or maybe this could be what I’m seeing on my end of the algorithm.

I’d rather not leave the terrain I’m familiar with, at least not without some transferable skills under my belt before I do leave.

Is anyone else staying in the fashion industry? If so do you have a strategy? Maybe Shifting into other departments outside of Technical fashion work (design, TD, PD) within your company? Or are you fleeing for the hills?

3 Likes

I have 30 years of design experience but was aged out of the business 5 years ago. I am going to relaunch my own label in time, but manufacturing is going to be very different going forward. There is a lot of talk about on-demand manufacturing, sustainable fabrics, etc. The millenials are focused on sustainability, climate, and waste management. It takes 5 tons of water to produce ONE teeshirt. The innovation is going to be in creating apparel that is aspirational, wearable, affordable and not destroy the planet in its production. Ralph Lauren has invested in a company that is repurposing cotton fiber, elongating the fibers it so that it can be woven into fabric. I believe these are the challenges facing younger designers and I see that it’s already happening.
I don’t think the traditional “garmento” approach of designing, producing and shipping to the department stores is sustainable. It already feels like the dinosaur age.