Excel use as a designer or tech designer

So I am applying to tech design positions in addition to senior designer positions to increase the chances of being hired. I have been out of the industry during COVID and am trying to get back in, after over 30 years working as a designer and design director but feeling pushed out by my age of being over 50.

I noticed tech designers and patternmakers can be older and still have a job, and in fact it’s considered a plus in some companies if you have years of experience whereas not so positive if you are a designer.

I noticed many companies want you to know Excel if you apply for a tech design role and I am wondering why? Dont most companies use PLM these days for tech packs? Are they expecting you to build your own spreadsheets or??

Final question-where can I learn how to use fashion industry specific skills in Excel? Does LinkedIn offer tutorials and explain the need for Excel for tech designers?
Thank you!

3 Likes

I work as a tech designer & patternmaker- I do agree that there seems to be less bias in this field (although I also worked with a lot of experienced designers, I think it’s very company & product dependent).

Most big companies do use a PLM system, although typically as a tech designer you would export data from PLM into Excel and sort it accordingly to track your work. If you are a manager you’ll need to be fairly confident in exporting data and making sense of it so you can make sure everything is on track and no styles get missed or continued to be worked on if they are dropped.

For smaller companies or less advanced companies, Excel is used for tech packs & graded measurement charts.