Which jobs need Portfolios?

The portfolio question is a great mystery to me. As a pattern maker, I’ve not had to have a portfolio, but I’m not sure if that’s the norm? I’m trying to work into a more technical design or development role. Please tell me if I need to come up with a portfolio for these jobs. If so, any tips you have on what they should include or not include would be so helpful!

3 Likes

I am a technical designer and I always bring my portfolio to interviews. It’s a physical one in a folder. (Not online though). It includes styles I worked on (like line sheets with images), tech packs with my comments. I also like to include before and after pictures of samples like first proto and TOP sample to show how bad it looked and how well it looked at production.

3 Likes

I am a Pm /TD. I use a portfolio website, I find it helps me a lot with getting interviews, particularly with people who don’t really understand what we do (which is most people, let’s be honest).

I have a section for technical sketches. Another section for comments where I show progression from 1st fit to final and pattern corrections done (screen shots with drawings on top) or photo-comments.

Lastly I have a section just for pattern making, where I have a screen grab video me doing some basic stuff in whatever pattern making program.

I also have a page about me with photos and background info. I learned that including pics of yourself and some personal info helps create a connection that might land you the job over someone equally qualified without this connection point.

I use Squarespace and find it’s very easy to use!

2 Likes