Patternmaker Directory

Hi Everyone!

I have an idea to make this work but still keep this anonymous.

If you’d like, please add a post here with the following info:

-Career experience thus far
-What type of product you specialize in or have the most experience with
-What programs you use
-What you are hoping to learn or work towards
-Are you open to freelance/project work (in case someone here wants to work with you)

And then, if anyone wants to reach out to hire you they can send you a DM.

Please let me know your thoughts/if you think this works? Open to feedback here!

1 Like

This looks great to me!

Career experience thus far:
I’ve been working in the apparel industry since 2008, usually in combination roles as a patternmaker & tech designer

What type of product you specialize in or have the most experience with

Primarily in cut & sew knits - upscale athleisure-type apparel. I have done wovens including denim and linens, but I find knits most intriguing.

I’ve worked on both men’s and women’s but have most experience with women’s.

What programs you use
I used Gerber V8.5 for most of my career. This year (2021) I made the transition to Tukatech since it is so much cheaper and easy to work with for small brands & factories.

I also have learned Optitex for a client and I’m in the process of learning CLO3D

What you are hoping to learn or work towards
-I’m interested in inclusive sizing, grading & how to offer extended sizes that actually fit people.

-I would also like to learn more about textile types & manufacturing so I can recommend appropriate & ecofriendly fabrications to my clients. I think understanding fibers & mills on a deeper level will improve my ability to make a pattern accommodated to that particular fabrication.

-I’m really enjoying freelance work, I am learning so much! I’m hoping to create a network of other, great patternmakers I can hand work off to so I don’t get overwhelmed as it is hard to say “no” at times!