Patternmaking Software Feedback

Hi,

I’m looking to transition into the freelance world more to try to leverage a better hourly wage and be able to work my own hours.

I have been freelancing on the side with a full time job for about 2 years now and I think I’m pretty close to being ready to make the leap, the only major thing holding me back is software.

I’ve spent my whole career using Accumark and am quite expeirenced with it. However, the cost to buy Accumark is honestly, insulting, when you look at how much patternmakers actually make these days. It’s $10K just for starting costs and then another $2k a year to maintain your license. They have a subscription program except it’s not a subscription bc you have to commit to a year of paying $500/month, which is also insane.

I’ve been looking into other patternmaking software as an alternative. Tukatech is much less expensive (it can be pricey depending on what functions you want, but at least they offer an actual subscription). I am trying Tukatech out and I’m trying to learn it on my own, but honestly, I’m not that impressed. Maybe I just don’t know all the tools yet, but doing simple things like adjusting a grainline or finding a midpoint on a line seems nearly impossible. I’ve spent a fair amount of time in the program and I’m generally pretty computer savvy. I’m considering giving up on Tuka and exploring what else is out there.

I’m curious everyone’s thoughts on patternmaking software- usability vs affordability. Or anything really, would love all your feedback!

Lectra is in the process of purchasing Gerber. I don’t know if Modaris is cheaper than Accumark but it wouldn’t be bad to look into it.

Optitex should be cheaper. Tukatech is based on Scanvec but I’m not sure if Scanvec is still around or not.

Oh this is so helpful to know! I don’t know much about these other brands (I know optitex and Lectra but that’s it)