Breaking into Gerber usage

Hi, I’ve been working as a pattern maker for many years now, but have worked for smaller companies that do not have Gerber. I am well-versed in TukaTech and StyleCAD and learned both quickly, but as I look at current job listings, most are asking for 5+ years in Gerber. I called Gerber at one point to ask whether I could attend GerberU, but they told me that I needed to be sponsored by an employer. Trouble is, employers seem to only want people who have been working in Gerber already, and it becomes one of those impossible loops. I’m finding that it’s limiting me in my job search for positions that would otherwise be a good fit. I’d love any insight or “hacks” to gain experience and understanding of Gerber. I learned two softwares quickly, I have no doubt that I could learn Gerber as well, but I need to figure out how to be given the opportunity!

1 Like

Unfortunately Gerber software isn’t that user friendly/intuitive. It was designed 20+? years ago and takes many steps to do one function. Before I was at my current company, I had only used Optitex (& had taught myself to use it). Before my interview, I bought some Gerber books to try to learn, but that wasn’t much help. Luckily the company saw that I had pattern skills and knew how to use pattern software, just not Gerber. They hired me and than paid for me to take a week long training class from Gerber. I’m pretty computer savvy, but I don’t think I would have figured out how to use it without training. Sorry not to be more helpful. Especially now that Gerber U in online, you could see if the company would be willing to train you if you prove you have all the other skills?

Ironically I just received an email from FIT that they are offering a certificate in Gerber if you live in in NYC and want to take the class?? Here’s the link. Computerized Patternmaking—Gerber Accumark PDS

2 Likes

Thanks for the tip! Unfortunately, I’m left coast—not at all close to NYC🫤.