Need a provider for General Liability Insurance for technical design

Hi freelancers! I just started a new freelance gig (previously I’ve only worked full-time) and my contract requires that I get General Liability Insurance. I’ve been trying to get a quote from Hiscox (recommended through Freelancers Union) but I just spoke on the phone with someone who said they “don’t cover my business” (I’m an apparel technical designer). Anyone have any recommendations for providers or have a different type of policy through Hiscox?

Would also be curious to hear stories from people who have this type of insurance and have had to file claims - I assume this is pretty rare?

Hi Are you sure they don’t mean general health insurance. I was a design / technical design freelancer for 3 years before getting my first full time job and I have to say I have never had general liability insurance. Usually if there is a disagreement or injury you would just end the relationship than collect the pay owed to you. I got general liability insurance for my real estate license but never for fashion because there’s usually no situation to warrant such protection.

Hi, I’ve been a freelancer for quite a few top brands out there and no one EVER ask to see a general liability insurance. I echoed the other responder, are you sure it’s not general life insurance? Best course of action will be taking this back to the person who’s hiring you, chances are this may be a generic contract and that they forgot to cross out that requirement.

1 Like

It’s definitely not in reference to health insurance, there was a separate clause about that. I think it’s possible that it’s a generic contract, but I’ve also spoken to another designer who does have GL insurance so it’s not unheard of.

Thank you both for your input!