New to Freelance- Any Recommendations?

Hi!
I am a designer with over 8 years experience- I have always worked full time in house for companies doing design for mass market clients, but am looking to start freelancing. I am open to working with a variety of clients- doesn’t have to be mass, but I know my portfolio is much more geared toward that.
Does anyone have recommendations of where to start in terms of finding clients and or agencies to work with?
I am curious if I should go down the path of agencies, or if I should try reaching out on my own. I also am curious if anyone has any good networking sites they use or recommend.
I have so much respect for the hard work that goes into freelancing and getting new clients! This is much harder than having a secured 9-6. Thank you in advance for any advice!

1 Like

I am in similar position. I lost my full time job in fashion accessory biz a little before the pandemic. Luckily I did secure one freelance gig at the beginning of March that I have been able to get a little work from on a regular basis.
Networking is key I feel. I say do everything you can to put yourself out there! Headhunters, agencies, contacting companies directly. Do you have a website with your portfolio you can share?

Thanks for the advice! Yes I do have a portfolio.
Im curious how you find good agencies and headhunters- I have seen the JCB, 24/7 Etc but wondering i there are more I should be reaching out to.

I haven’t had too much luck with agencies but I think it is because my position is just not out there. I have been a design director, merchandiser and sourcing expert for licensed jewelry and accessories. I actually found my latest gig on indeed as well as a couple others before that. Linked in also has been a good resource for me. Would love to see your portfolio. Who knows might have some graphic design projects in future that I will be looking for help on.