Let’s Talk Accessories

I wanted to open up this space for accessories professionals. I know about lay offs at Tapestry and some at Tory. Anything about MK or smaller brands?

I heard all the Gap brands laid off their softgoods accessories people, and Nordstrom laid them off or shifted them into other rolls that weren’t accessories

Sadly I’m an Accessories Designer whose position was eliminated because accessories are a “nice to have” and not a need to have.

Which company? Small or large?

I wonder if transitioning into Home Accessories would be a better move. Who knows how long this will take to balance out…

Fairly large company with a couple of divisions - each one handled differently. It’s always been difficult to find accessory design positions (outside of New York). I would absolutely transition into Home if possible. I have basic skills for apparel too but have been accessory focused for 15 years. I do think a career change/shift is inevitable

@Kitty43 in NYC it is also tough at higher levels. I am still doing a few freelance projects, but I am transitioning out. Contemporary leather bags were already hit hard, I don’t have much hope for any improvement in the near future.

Anyone work in performance/sport accessories? That category was already building steam, and I’d imagine it would continue to have a little more momentum in our new landscape.

I do soft accessories, I’ve always done ski stuff, but I’m getting more and more requests for golf/ tennis/ biking and of course, everyone wants performance features within their fashion items. With COVID it’s been a lot of Anti-microbial/ bacterial fabrics and masks, of course.