Legalities of Lay-off and Position now posted for Hire

So I was laid-off earlier this month, not even 3 weeks later I see a job post for my exact position and confirmed it is from my previous company though my personal sources. The reason the gave me for my lay-off was financial hardships due to Covid. But here they are hiring for my position for immediate hire!? Anyone know the legalities of this? This seems illegal to me, but I’m by no means a lawyer. Any help welcomed!

2 Likes

I’m curious to know if this is legal also. My lay-off wasn’t Covid related, but in November I was laid off and only a few weeks later my job was posted online. So I’m just wondering what the laws behind this are and if there is anything protecting people.

They are probably looking to hire someone at a lower-rate than you were. If you work at an at-will state, then them laying off you off and then posting for your exact position seems to be legal, but I’ m not an employment lawyer. From experience, I have been laid-off and specifically been told it was my pay scale was too much for the department new budget when the company was bought out. Lots of high paid, long term employees lost their jobs, and many saw the same jobs posted not too long after.

2 Likes

Yes, I did read that New York is an at-will employment state.
Seems they should give an option to take less pay before letting go if that’s the issue. But I guess that’s a question of morality. Besides that I know I wasn’t the highest paid designer on the team, so guess I’ll never really know why I was chosen.

2 Likes