College Degree Requirements

Hi I am a designer with 20 + years experience.
However I only have an Associates Degree in Fashion Design. How much do you think companies really care about degree. I notice most jobs these days requiring a Bachelors. Could this by why I’m not getting interviews?

1 Like

At this point in your career, your original degree is less important. Your portfolio and work history are what they are looking at. If they can’t get a sense of you from your recent work (or they are bad at interviewing and reading a career progression from a resume and portfolio), they might ask for a project, but after twenty years work experience, where you went to school isn’t the best indicator of current performance. Do you personally feel like you’d like to go back to school? Take some continuing ed classes and put them on your resume. It shows you are constantly learning and evolving.

4 Likes

I’m in the same boat. I read recently that automated application systems are often programmed to automatically throw out applications that don’t fit certain criteria; so if a company has told the system “ignore anyone who doesn’t check the college degree box” then you won’t even proceed to a human who can review your resume and see that you’re otherwise an appealing & qualified candidate.

Going forward, I’m going to just check the damn box that says I have a degree, don’t give a date of graduation, and approach the topic if I actually make it thru to an interview. If it forces me to put a date, or if I think they’re going to research without speaking with me first, I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

2 Likes