Hiring individuals and seeing beyond their resumes

Companies only hire designers that has many years of experience in their niche and never look beyond other people who has a design talent that can probably do the job as well. I am fortunate enough to be hired by some leaders who can see beyond what i have done and given me jobs that i dont have years of experience in. Anyone having this problem? How do you convince them that you can do that job?

1 Like

I have no idea, im in that moment of my career. I have over 10 years experience and recently took a position overseas, upon my return to the states i have not been called for 1 interview in 1 yearā€¦ Recently a recruiter came back to me telling me my overseas experience is confusing and companies may think that im not American and need a visaā€¦ But thats only 1 experience over the course of my careerā€¦ I think its rare to have someone actually read your resume now adays. I think thats what makes changing sectors amongst our industry the hardest. :pensive:

2 Likes

That should actually be an advantage to have worked overseasā€¦ new experiences and new ideas to bring to the table. But companies cannot see beyond anything that is not related to their niche only. Itā€™s sad.

1 Like

@Monsieur you can anticipate this by putting a note at the bottom of your resume that you are already qualified to work in the US. This is common overseas, and it was suggested that I add this when I was looking for work in the U.K. several years ago. Or put a note in your summary like ā€˜US based designerā€¦ā€™

I agree, a lot of companies canā€™t see beyond your last job, and tend to ā€œpigeonholeā€ you into one of the industry, and donā€™t seem able to see beyond the fact that, if you are good, you can design and work in other aspects of the industry as well.