Fashion internships

Hello all!
I’m a recent fashion design graduate currently interning for two small to medium sized brand in NY.
I was wondering, how many internships (most often unpaid) does it take take to finally be hired as assistant designer doing design? How normal is it to continue doing unpaid fashion internship even after graduating? I know that Covid times must be different.
I’m also thinking of transitioning to Production Design / Fashion Merchandising as it seems so hard to get your foot in the door for design assistant jobs, especially now.
I feel like I’m in this endless loop doing unpaid internship without design assistant jobs in sight.

1 Like

First of all, it’s GREAT that you are doing internships during school (and even after). I have met so many people who graduate with a fashion degree with NO work experience. It’s not only good to learn about fashion- but also about how different companies are structured, their work methods, the culture, etc. Internships definitely give you that extra experience, teach you about the work world, and show that you have ambition and drive.

That being said- in normal times, you should be able to get an assistant designer job right after graduating. Yes, they’ll probably pay you a low rate, and you won’t be designing, but with a little luck you’ll get to sit in on meetings, fittings, etc while you organize fabric swatches, sort buttons, and all the other grunt work. We all did that work, and paid our dues.

Obviously, these aren’t normal times, and everyone is struggling for a job, and in-office work is weird at the moment. (There are limits to how many people can be in the room at my fittings, for example). But there are jobs out there, and there will be more again, and assistant jobs open up much more quickly because assistants leave (for a new job, or a promotion, etc) and so there is higher turnover.