Designer Career Trajectory

As a young Design Assistant with a degree in design and phenomenal taste. I have 4 years experience, 2 1/2 assisting, the last of that year and half operating as an associate with assistant pay and eighteen months experience as an intern. Can anyone help me determine exactly what phase in my career should I be at? Should I be officially titled as an Associate? I have seen white counterparts at my company who have worked there for less time than I have start at the same level as I and then be promoted, which I think speaks to another issue at hand. But I just want to know what is the range in “due time” one should put in to be on path of continued growth as a Designer? How do you know when you’ve outgrown your role?

The career path for anyone is not always as simple as putting time in. It takes time to gain the experience needed to progress but you need to prove your worth. Your work ethic, your willingness to take on extra responsibilities, your proficiency, your talent, your positive relationships with other employees and your bosses… these are all things that could push you forward. If you feel like you deserve a raise or promotion and can prove your worth you can just ask for it!! Men do this all the time! Don’t wait for someone to give you what you feel you deserve. Just make sure you can back it up.

After 4 years you could be an Associate, but I don’t know your skills. If you feel like you are qualified for a raise or promotion, speak up. I am a person of color and have gotten promotions and raises by proving my worth and asking for more.

Also, don’t spend too much time comparing yourself to others. I understand the feeling of being overlooked (trust me) but If you are good at your job, it will be noticed, and if you focus on making yourself valuable, you will have nothing to worry about.

9 Likes