Should new grads create a portfolio targeted to specific company they are applying for?

Hello all!
I hope that you’ve been having a good start of Spring…
I’m a new fashion design grad and my current portfolio is mostly experimental /minimalist

I’m looking to apply for outerwear brands (because I’m from Canada and in Canada only outerwear / athleisure are growing now & have openings…), yet nothing in my portfolio goes into tech wear…

I’ve spoken to one of my teachers and she told me I should just do a portfolio (2-3 pages) that is specifically dedicated to the brand I am applying for. For instance, make a whole Arc’teryx portfolio with a suggested lineup. She also says that companies may as well tell you to do some projects during the interview process anyways.

My main worry is that this can become very time consuming; as a perfectionist, I could become so addicted to such self imposed project alone I don’t spend as much time applying or stuff… Then again, I feel like my portfolio is enough? That companies/recruiters are able to tell if one knows Adobe very well, can do design research, is able to interpret a concept and make some 3D development, that one can be trained in outerwear?

Or, perhaps outerwear is so specific that I SHOULD do a project on that to show I’m able to appreciate tech wear? In addition, my internships were mostly in ready to wear / women’s wear and more on the creative side.

1 Like

I wouldn’t design specifically to the brand in your portfolio, project requests during interviews are common so if they ask you to design something for the brand, then do so. Personally, I like to do a “capsule” collection (2-3 pages: mood/Color CADs/ Some tech call-outs etc.) in my portfolio that is geared toward the brand/product but not a direct brand proposal. I feel it is still important to show your personal creativity, especially with more conceptual brands (less if you’re getting into the low-budget mass market).