Tutors for Adobe Illustrator flat sketching?

I am an OLD SCHOOL designer who still sketches designs by hand. Design schools such as FIDM or OTIS LA don’t offer continuing ed singular courses in flat fashion sketching which is required if you want to work as a designer, and companies don’t train their employees.
I am seeking a freelance designer perhaps right out of school to sit IN PERSON with me and teach how to create flat sketches because without this skill I cannot get hired on spite of being a Design Director for the largest US brands.
LinkedIn and YouTube tutorials are only good for THAT design, but then if your design calls for a placket or zipper, ruching, lace ,buttons it’s like learning every sketch all over again. It takes me HOURS to create one sketch I sketch by hand in 5 minutes. And it looks terrible.
Where do I go to find someone like this and has this happened to your career where you are aged out because of all of these software requirements?

4 Likes

LinkedIn learning has a great course for apparel tech pack design in Adobe illustrator. Check your local library online. They will have a free online learning course. It may be LinkedIn learning or Ed2go. This used to be called Lynda.com. You can go to the library. Bring your iPad or laptop. They can set you up with an account, show you how to navigate the app. They can show you how to set up and use the learning module. Once you get started it’s great. You can follow along, pause the course and restart to work at the pace you need. And it’s free.
You can start with a basic illustrator course and progress as you get more comfortable.you can also take a class with a community college. I know Pratt has certificate classes that are live, zoom classes and the instructors are wonderful. Continuing Ed is an important category in all the schools now and many are still via zoom.

3 Likes