Building a freelance business / pricing

I’m freelancing as a textile / product designer. I have 20+ years of experience as a design director / senior CAD manager and have designed home furnishings, and apparel textiles. I am also skilled in product development. What is the best way to market my skills? How can I reach out to prospective clients in a positive way, and in what arenas? Email? Linked in? Should I price per design / collection / or by the hour? It’s a new world now, companies are trying to make up what they have lost these past few months and I want to be reasonable in my pricing.

6 Likes

Should their be a FREELANCE category? That would keep all of the freelance discussions in one place.

9 Likes

That would be great.

I also like this idea.

1 Like

Hi,
Not sure if the freelance area has opened yet but wanted to leave an answer for ya!
I’ve been mostly freelancing my career since 2008 collapse hit and enjoyed the highs and lows of it. Have you ever freelanced through an agency? That’s part of how I started to get a better idea of how things worked at the beginning. These days building a network has gotten a little difficult as the networking on sites like LinkedIn doesn’t seem to have people as open as they like to think they are but it’s not impossible. You can join groups on LinkedIn and introduce yourself and your business. I still cold email people with some level of success. As for the pricing I always like to give 2 options: 1. Per hour and 2. Project fee (could be per design depending your set up). Just trying to open up the conversation here and I’m open to the dialogue! Happy 4th everyone!

7 Likes

Hi all just moving this over to the freelance topic header!

1 Like

Great insight!

love to learn more about which agency did you use to start with?