My 2020 Freelancing Experience

Hey everyone! I wanted to share my experience freelancing this year and maybe have some of you also share your “year in review”!

I started 2020 with a goal of going FT freelance, even before COVID. I am a designer and just absolutely hated my commute and full time 9-5 office life in Los Angeles. I was loosing 2 hours per day just driving and dealing with office politics is just so annoying.

I gave my 2 weeks notice to my FT office job on March 9th 2020. Yeah, great timing. Within the next week, things got real and the company had me spend my last week of employment WFH - then requested I stay on a couple weeks longer. WFH was enjoyable for me, so I agreed. Then they proposed I stay on as part time freelance, which again I was fine with. But that fell through as the pandemic crises worsened and I was essentially unemployed for the Spring & Summer.

I spent the Spring sewings masks. I was one of the first people to offer them on Etsy and made a good chunk of change selling these masks in the early days. For each 1 sold, I donated another one to local healthcare facilities. This kept me super busy. As we transitioned into Summer, I got a ton of work from FIVERR. Although they take a ton in fees, I was super busy with some reoccurring clients for flats and tech pack. I put my prices up enough to make it worth it even with the fees.

Come August, my original workplace contacted me again and had me on for 3 days a week. I even negotiated a higher hourly rate which was great. My former head designer who had left the company contacted me and gave me a freelance client that she didn’t have time to work with. My other co-worker who still was working at the original workplace also sent me a client. Both clients only need a couple days of work per month, but things were adding up! FIVERR work slowed down, but was still busy.