Moving up to management from senior TD

A Requter told me its time for me to go for technical design management position since I have 13+ years of senior TD experience.
How do you know it’s time? How do I manage? Lead?

1 Like

Fashion, I mean this in only the most respectful way - It sounds like you may not be ready for a management position if you are unsure how to manage & lead. I suggest researching the skills which the most effective managers possess and evaluate your competency in those skills. Also, consider the best and worst managers you have had - what made one the best? What made one the worst? Also, find 1 or 2 people on LinkedIn to follow whose leadership style you connect with and admire. Don’t feel pressured to move into a management role until you feel ready. You might be setting yourself up for failure.
I commend you for surfacing your concern and being self-aware. Wishing you success in all your endeavors.

Thank you, I appreciate your feedback.

I do believe there’s a difference between manager and a leader. And a leader should be a trusted person, understands human psychology, in my opinion these are the best skills of the leader/manager can have. I do believe, I have all these skills.

I have worked with many different type of managers good and bad. I learned long life lessons from each. And I do agree with you to take those lessons and apply to my future position.

I also believe you need to start from somewhere to get to your goal.

We all have flaws, you can’t learn without trying. Just like there’s no perfect parent, you learn along the way.

Again thank you for the feedback.