Is it worth it to move for a job?

Hi All.
Is it worth it to move to another state for a job? What if living expenses are higher? For example, from LA to SF or from LA to NYC. I would love everyones insight.

1 Like

Sometimes if the increase salary, benefits, cost of living all adds up then it’s worth moving but it really depends on what your opportunity cost is.

1 Like

Also been wondering this too. Move from NYC to…some other city? Where exactly are the other jobs in apparel fashion and home fashion?
If I move to a new city for a job, and the job doesn’t work out, I wouldn’t want to be stuck there with no other jobs to apply to after moving into a new house/apartment.

1 Like

That’s already happened to me twice. Now I have to commute for 3 hrs a day to get to a “job” where as a designer I am informally in responsible for vendors and printers sounds more like a Production Manager if you as me

1 Like

If the new city had a large job market for fashion design, I’d take a chance. If the new city had no other viable fashion companies/job options, I’d ask to negotiate an exit package that included assistance to move me back to my home city at the end of my employment. It’s common in overseas employment. Maybe less so in moves within the US, but it’s not unreasonable to ask to have that conversation.

4 Likes

Do all of the companies hiring outside of their job location provide relocation package? If they do, what is included?

I have relocated twice for jobs!