Inside the interview process

I thought it might be helpful for those of us who have been on the hiring side (recently, or not) to share some “insider” thoughts on the interview process. Maybe some others can join in and share their experiences? :slight_smile: Or ask questions! It’d be nice to have some open dialogue on this topic.

To set the stage: I am a hiring manager for designers (apparel and graphic) at a smaller, privately held company. The people I interview/hire report to me. We have an HR department, but also occasionally use agencies. I am just one person and don’t represent the breadth of approaches in hiring, so take what you will from my thoughts:

• our HR dept screens/interviews for ALL positions in the company: accounting, sales, admin, etc. They are NOT experts on what design does, and when they screen candidates, they’re really looking at the ability to communicate their resume, confidence, personality, etc. Frankly, we are not always on the same page when it comes to candidates - sometimes HR is too literal about someone’s background. I think a lot of companies are set up like this and as a candidate, being prepared to present yourself to someone who doesn’t speak the language of your role can go a long way.
  • I, personally, DO screen resumes myself. I like a nice aesthetic on a resume (again: designer), and I like to check portfolio websites if they are shared. I wouldn’t count someone out if they don’t share work samples with their resume, but it definitely can make/break if the work is great/not great, or relevant/not relevant. Think about the role and market segment - if you’re sharing the website upfront, making sure the work applies to the position is a huge help.
  • I do check social media. I really don’t think many people go this deep, but if I find someone is arguing with strangers about politics on LinkedIn, it definitely makes me pause.