How important is knowing how to sew/drape/pattern for a designer?

Hi all!
I’m a recent graduate and throughout school, it feels like teachers really pushed us to be ‘creative’, ‘tell a story’, and pushed us to be unconventional / innovative. It also seems that those with money could just outsource all pattern making / construction anyways. While some teachers do stress the importance of construction, it seems like the grads in recent years who got press and all are the ones who make those crazy designs and then go on to start their own brands.

After graduating, I realize how little I actually know about how to draft a proper tailored jacket or pair of jeans based on someone’s measurements. I started interning for a small brand and from this experience only, it seems that the assistant designer must know a lot about pattern making/ construction. The ones who don’t know that much about construction seems work in more production design or digital design related roles, at least when it’s in a smaller team.

I feel like I need to self-teach myself the basics of traditional construction instead of finishing up my thesis project, which is quite unwearable. I wonder what you guys think?

Thanks a lot!

2 Likes

It really depends on what you want to work on when you design, what companies you’d like to design for (and/or start your own at some point) and what would be the ideal career path arc you’d like to take.

Some places you really need a strong patternmaking/draping/sewing background, and I’m sure some other people will jump on here who have done this, I would say definitely couture, high end designer brands, costume design, and probably categories like evening wear, wedding, etc. In that case I can’t be any help :slight_smile: