Hourly Rate Reduction Due to Covid-19

I freelance as an accessory designer where I normally give my rate and the company accepts these terms. Sometimes there are companies that have a fixed price and I can either take it (if it’s not a huge hit and it’s reasonable) or leave it.
Due to Covid-19, I understand there have been mass layoffs, furloughs and drastic salary cuts for full time employers in the industry. Has anyone seen hourly rate decreases for freelancers at any companies? I have been seeing roughly $15-25/hour less with some companies and I’m wondering if that’s just the way it will be for a while until things (hopefully) pick up. I don’t want to accept a project if it undercuts myself or any other freelancer.
For reference, I have 15 years experience (usually senior roles, not director), work in soft accessories (not shoes, handbags or jewelry) and live in NYC.

3 Likes

Haven’t seen that yet since Ive been applying with no success to anything. If I do find out, I will try my best to give an update.

$15.00/hour freelance rate for 15 years experience is completely ridiculous. I was once asked by a headhunter if I would freelance for $15.00/hour. My response was: my 16 year old daughter babysits and makes $15.00/hour. She doesn’t have a high school diploma/much less a 4 year college degree, and has zero Adobe software and work experience. We all need to bond together to say “NO” we won’t be under-cut with our freelance rate!

19 Likes

What the poster meant was that the reduction in the hourly rate is 15/20 as compared to the pre-Covid rates. I have not gotten any consulting jobs since the ones I was already working on beginning of April, so won’t know till I do. If not for Covid19, one client was planning to travel to see me around this time. But now that is on a back burner, till their orders pick up and existing stock sells

Thank you for all of your replies! This thread can really help a lot of contract workers.