Freelancing on the side

Curious to know if anyone started freelancing on the side while maintaining a fulltime job, and not get in trouble with non compete type of requirements from their employer.

How do you explain to your new accounts that you already have a job and keep it confidential between both parties when reaching out?

It makes more sense to start freelancing on the side before transitioning to fulltime freelance. quitting your fulltime job in the covid era seems insane but at the same time, thinking of moving out of NYC so hoping to build a client base before leaving so I don’t have to start from scratch.
Has anyone done this transition successfully?
Any insights into freelancing remote would be amazing, I am a designer but would love to hear from all areas of fashion,
Thanks everyone!

I would suggest not using the same design elements, mood boards, trends, etc. and keeping these 2 as separate as possible. Don’t mix & match what you get from freelancing with your other job. If you get fired for non compete reasons, that is entirely your own fault. But it’s not uncommon for people in this industry to be forced to work 2 jobs to make a decent wage.

2 Likes