Mental Health check in

Hi guys.

How has everyone’s mental health and motivation been?
I was an associate designer for almost two years now and I got laid off due to Covid and have not been able to find work. It’s been a few months already…

My mental health has been bad. I was in the hospital for almost two weeks due to it. Would like to know how everyone else is doing…

3 Likes

Glad you are opening up about this! I’ve had negative outlooks to job opportunities that are lower than pre-pandemic.

The only thing that is keeping me happy is my certificate classes to a new career that could also be in fashion if I wanted it to.

I do have a tele-therapist I see to help with the unsure feelings I have.

3 Likes

What certifications are you working on and what new career(s) are you working towards?

How old are you if you don’t mind me asking?

1 Like

I hate to hear this. Makes you wonder if the lock-downs did more harm than good.

I dont mind. Im 30yrs right now and ill be transitioning into graphics design as a new career.

This will be through Parsons Certificate program.

4 Likes

I think its great that you started this conversation. Thank you for sharing.

I was furloughed and called back to work at my company, but my entire time was let go. I now have had to adapt to working on a team with people who really impact my mental peace in the way that they work, and critique my work. So I find myself some days, today included, completely unmotivated to work at all.

What helps bring me joy though is personal projects so I try to find time to sketch, and sew things for myself so I can leave the mental sinkhole that is my job.

7 Likes

I don’t even have motivation to sketch…

I’ve lost all desire for this industry. My job I was laid off from was super toxic.

2 Likes

I don’t know where you’re located but Im in NYC. I went to a fabric store a few weeks ago and it helped remind me why i love fashion. I also went to the MET to see the Sandy Schreier exhibit.