I used my furlough as an opportunity to career transition

Hi everyone!

I got furloughed in April at Tommy Hilfiger. I was a designer there for 3 years with plans to receive a promotion and move to Amsterdam to work with the collection team. That didn’t happen and that is okay because I try to see rejection as redirection. During this time I have explored a career transition as a writer, something I have been doing anonymously for the past two years on the side. Now I have the opportunity to do it full time. If you have been furloughed or laid-off please know that you are still a whole person regardless of a job title or salary. You are always your number one priority. I wrote these two pieces below to help anyone feel less alone and to encourage you to leap forward to whatever makes you happy. If you are struggling please know you are not alone. I hear you. I see you. I stand with you.

35 Likes

Love how you pivoted the situation. Everything happens for a reason. Thanks for sharing and being uplifting. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

These are beautifully written. God bless you for being so honest.

3 Likes

Thanks so much for posting this. I was laid off from my position as well, and I have been using this time to reassess and reevaluate my career path. I have been working as a designer for the past 15+ years and I have started to think about what the possible transitions could be. So I have been taking some online classes in marketing trying to figure out if that could be a possible next step for me. It always seemed like there might be more out there for me, and maybe this time I will figure out what that is :slight_smile:

6 Likes