How do we transition of of the fashion industry after working in it for over 20 years?

How do we begin to transition out of the industry if this is all we know? I have been working in the industry for over 20 years or all of my professional life…how do I start over in the times that seem beyond help?

9 Likes

This is such a great question & looking forward to hearing people’s opinions on this matter. In these unprecedented times it’s a whole different ballgame in this industry if you are a newcomer & it’s easier to transition out, but 20 years invested… such a different situation.

6 Likes

Wish I had the answer. I’m exactly in the same boat. 20 years experience and cant find a job either in fashion or another industry. I’ll likely have to get a minimum wage job. All that hard work and success now reduced to working at Starbucks. I’m gonna lose my apartment which I love. It sucks.

4 Likes

I’m also in the boat with you. 30+ years of experience. I’m still trying for jobs in the industry, but I’m not hopeful. I am looking into getting an HR certification or becoming an Executive Assistant. I’m starting out taking free on-line classes to improve my skills in Microsoft Office, then will look into taking additional courses to help land a job.
FYI - Executive Assistants can make 6-figure salaries, esp in the NY/Tri-State area. Will probably have to start out lower to gain experience, but landing an EA position with a C-suite leader can be very lucrative.

5 Likes

I’m in the same situation. I love the industry but it’s looking like it no longer has love for me. I’ve been in it since '83. I did take a culinary certificate class years ago however that industry is just as bad as the garment industry. So now I need to recreate myself but God only knows what that will be.
I wish us ALL luck with all future endeavors.

FYI: I lost my apartment and have 2 kids in collge

5 Likes

I know this is not for everyone, but I suggest contacting the Trade Act team in Albany.