Furlough to quitting

Has anyone been furloughed and quit?

I was furloughed a few months ago and am expecting to be laid off but if I’m asked to come back I have thought about declining. I’ve been a designer for 10+ years and am tired of the micro-managing, all the corporate BS, my passive aggressive bosses, all of it. I know if I seek out employment at other companies it’s going to be the same BS just a different company.

My thoughts are to go freelance and/or change careers.

I’m mostly afraid of the high cost of health insurance premiums.

Any words of wisdom?

2 Likes

It sounds like you have a gut instinct about your own situation, so I would say follow that. My only works of advice would be to let the layoff thing play out so as to not jeopardize your UI benefits. If you aren’t receiving any, then obviously this isn’t applicable.

4 Likes

Additionally if you are receiving health benefits from your current employer and then quit you would not be eligible for Cobra. So you would immediately need to find an independent ins policy.

Better to keep working and look to pivot.

Having a job, BS situation or not you are ahead of the game.

1 Like

Yes, medical insurance is very expensive, at least when you are furloughed, you have a medical insurance. It is probably better to find the other permanent position while in furlough.

Hold it right there- even if you quit your job, you can still be eligible for COBRA. It’s the law. I’ve resigned from 2 jobs and I was eligible for COBRA both times. Were you thinking about unemployment benefits instead?

However, depending on the employer they might not subsidize COBRA payments. One job I left subsidized half the payment so I paid about $600/month. The last job I had I was laid off, but they were too small to subsidize so it would have been $1,000/month. I opted out.

2 Likes