Tech Design Salaries

Use this area to discuss Technical Designer salaries.

San Francisco - senior level 100k

NYC- technical designer, $77,000

What level? Yrs of experience

Associate Tech Designer - New York $67,000

1 Like

NYC - Asst. Tech Designer - 4 years - $50,000

1 Like

LA- Technical Designer (senior level)- $90k

1 Like

NYC - Associate Technical Designer - $65k

2 Likes

When I was a Senior Tech Designer for Menswear in NYC, I was making 98K back in Jan, 2020.

1 Like

$75 per hour freelance LA highly experienced.

2 Likes

Unfortunately, salaries have been flat for over 12 years across all roles. There has been a steady decline in recognizing the value that we bring to this industry. I do not foresee it reverting back, ever, to the glory and honor it used to hold.

8 Likes

When I was a Sr. Tech Designer back in 2006, I was making $125K…

1 Like

Portland, OR: $90K senior level with 6 years experience

1 Like

Technical designer -10 years - 85k - Pennsylvania

1 Like

NYC-I’ve made 138k and 140k as sr tech, with large companies. But that was 3-4 years and probably hard to come by that kind of money again. My most recent fulltime job was 100k, but that company went out of business.
I’ve also had freelance jobs that paid 50/hr when hired directly and one that paid 30/hr through an agency. I’ve found there wasn’t much room for negotiation with the agency, but I took the job because I needed it.

2 Likes

Wow, it’s so sad salaries for TD’s have not increased in 20 years!