Company goes off the rails, should be a tv drama

Years ago I was a designer at a company in which the owner was having a long time affair with the president of a sister company. Her husband ran our warehouse and took every opportunity to delay shipments, misplace goods, make mistakes and cause trouble galore just to get back at the owner. Needless to say they went out of business, but it was some crazy times and when I remember all the crazy problems they had, it has made it easier to deal with problems of other crazy bosses.

6 Likes

I’ve worked at several companies in which the owners were having affairs, the designers and/or trim, fabric buyers were sleeping with vendors, various degrees of nepotism, and other craziness that I used to think I should turn it into a script. Shorter hours for a lot more money!

6 Likes

YES! I could definitely make a sitcom!

Another company I was with had a affair going on as well and everyone too close to the situation was let go.

The worst one was when the heads of both divisions were having affairs with the boss at the same time and were both vying for his attention. The place was beyond crazy!

4 Likes

That last one is a tough one! Already a business with what I like to call large personalities and vying for attention- talk about a ruthless tennis match! Like the Witches of Eastwick on steroids!

4 Likes

I’ve definitely worked as multiple companies where the (male) big boss(es) were having affairs with lower level employees.

1. Big company where we all knew the big boss had a specific racial and body type preference for his multiple affairs (I was very out of the loop with upper level management and I still knew this). Disgusting